Groovy Girls Go…………Dreaming While Wide-Awake

Groovy Girls Go…….Y Not? Minot!
Are you really running in Minot, North Dakota? Texts back a running friend of mine from Detroit.  

I certainly am, and these hills are certainly no joke. He concurs.
The prairie must be what surrounds the city of Minot because I assure you, there are some monster rolling hills that go on, and on, and on, and on………
I suppose it’s not all bad as I’m planning to return to Thunderbolt mountain on the western side of Montana in a couple weeks………..it’ll probably make these things look like ant hills……..and so I get up, each morning, before the others, to run the hills of Minot while my daughter dreams.  

Ironically, I find that I’m dreaming on these runs too. Not the sleepy kind of dreaming, but dreaming with my eyes wide open.  

I’m here a few more days in North Dakota because my 95 year-old Grandfather fell and broke his hip. It’s unbelievably sad in many ways…….and yet in others……it’s unbelievably inspiring. 

I’ve always said that I run because I can. I’ve been blessed with toes that can take this body anywhere I’ve dreamed. I have more miles on these legs than some people will collect-in a car-in a lifetime………and yet I never take a step for granted. 
I now watch my Grandfather, once a mighty farmer on these plains of North Dakota, a tough son-of-a-bitch if you will; struggle. The hands of life’s time-clock kept turning on him and now he needs the help of everyone…….of anyone. It’s a beautiful reminder for me, and a beautiful lesson for his Great Grand-daughter to witness humility, love, patience, and peace. 

Because I still see the strong man, it’s just a different kind of strength. I’ll carry in my heart forever as I spied in on Grandpa looking deeply into my Grandma’s eyes and the up breakable love between them was stronger than ever. I watched them with gentle strength hold one another’s hand as Grandpa lay, trying to find peace from his pain.  
So I run……I run these hills of Minot, the paths, the roads, the dirt, and I take in these prairie views because I’m lucky enough to have feet that can take me out to them under my own power. I run because for now, I’m strong……yet one day I too will be at the mercy of other’s help and when that day comes………I’ll always have my dreams.
Groovy Girls Go……Collecting Moments That One Day Will Become My Dreams

We love comments! Tell us what you think here....

