Groovy Girls Go………..Soul-fully Along

So, November 2nd is All Souls’ Day. It would seem fitting then, that I would be born on a day where I’m reminded yearly on how important it is to nourish one’s soul. So, I set out to celebrate my day by doing just that, nourishing my soul.

Before I do the obvious, run, I do what really fuels me; cuddle, snuggle, and love on my little girl. She is so beautiful when she sleeps. Her dark eyelashes curl up and I can only imagine what playful adventures she’s dreaming up.

I sweep away her bangs as I take in her warm, sweet smell. I sip on my coffee as I reflect on our past year together. All the journeys we’ve taken together, all the miles these toes have traveled, all the goals we’ve met, and the few we’ve to yet. It’s an AmAzInG responsibility to be the person whom another fully depends upon in life. To be their first teacher and to remember that they watch and take in everything.

And so, I lace up. Because I want her to know that commitments start with oneself and a commitment to be the best oneself one can be. For me that means carving out a little time to run. To move my own body, to sweat, to breathe hard, to view the world by the power of my own feet. To stay healthy and to model stick-to-it-ness for my little girl.

I kiss her forehead one last time and wish her a few more hours of slumber before she wakes to start putting her dreams to actions. But as for me, my sneakers are on and I sneak out to get a few miles in……….because I’m not getting any younger ;). So happy birthday to me……….miles are my gift to myself, my health, and to my soul.

Groovy Girls Go…………Every All Souls’ Day

2 thoughts on “Groovy Girls Go………..Soul-fully Along

  1. For me, November 2nd is All Soles Day. A day I remember my first pair of Asics. *sniffle*. Excuse me– brings a tear to my eye. *sniffle*. And, I’ll never forget my black Nike Darts. *sniffle*. I’m sorry, I can’t go on. . .

We love comments! Tell us what you think here....

