Groovy Girls Go ….. When Their Body is Cold Because Their Soul Gets Warmed

To state the already over-stated obvious is that IT IS COLD OUTSIDE.  Logging miles has been difficult to say the least.  I signed up for a splattering of races this winter to keep me on the road to Boylston and I’m sure glad I did.

At the start....waiting until, literally, the gun has gone off to pass off my warm winter gear.

At the start….waiting until, literally, the gun has gone off to pass off my warm winter gear.

My mantra, “All Roads Lead to Boylston” has been the motivating final words uttered before pulling up over my face my “turtle” and hitting the road……or more accurately stated, hitting the ice and snow.

I’ve yet to have decent footing during any of the races I put on my calendar, but yet I’ve never had so much childish fun while training for a serious race.  The complete contrast between these two concepts is not lost on me and gives me pause to reflect; Why do I run…….

I never want to be too smug to not appreciate that I have a gift that allows me to move my feet, keep moving my feet, and move my feet at a decent pace.  I was thrilled to win my age group this last weekend at the Portage Winter Blast, considering the conditions, or not considering the conditions.  At the end of the day, we all ran on the same day and between the same cones.

When it wasn't snow, it was ice....when it wasn't ice or snow, it was black ice.

When it wasn’t snow, it was ice….when it wasn’t ice or snow, it was black ice.

It was fun to have my morning coffee in a mug won at a race while placing it on a coaster I won at a race.  These will be the reminders I cherish when I am one day sitting and telling Montana about my running “good ‘ol days” while looking at the life-size poster from Greg Saddler who always makes me look run-tastic.

I love to run, I love to run no matter what the course.  I prefer challenging courses.  I never want it to be said about me that I took the easy path…. in anything.  My parents did indeed succeed in instilling in me that the life worth living is the life worth working for.

I cherish running with my friends more than I could ever put into words.  It’s my fun, my connection with good people, my connection to like-minded people, and my connection to those people who most support and get me.

This Undescribably Cold winter has reminded me just how much I love to run.  How, that despite how cold it is outside, I never regret getting outside, and when I can do it with friends and people who love and get me, I’m the luckiest runner in the world!

I went with white so my "ice=stach" would match my outfit.

I went with white so my “ice=stach” would match my outfit.

 

Groovy Girls Go ….. Even When It’s Cold to Warm the Soul

2 thoughts on “Groovy Girls Go ….. When Their Body is Cold Because Their Soul Gets Warmed

We love comments! Tell us what you think here....

