Little Groovy Girls Go ….. Ice Skating

I went to go see if my friends down the street wanted to play in the snow.  The snow is all the way up to my head!  My friend got ice skates for Christmas so she wanted to do that.

There was only one problem, the rink was not shoveled and the snow was deep.

My Momma said I could ice skate with my friend, we got my skates on, she picked up a shovel, and off we walked to the frozen lake.

The adults shovel while the three friends skated on the ice.

The adults shovel while the three friends skated on the ice.

(We can’t really use the lake in the summer because of all the cattails, but in the winter they are frozen under the ice.)

My Momma shoveled a path out onto the ice.  My friend’s Mom came to help and then my Daddy came to help too after he was done with the driveway.  He is really tall and the snow was up to his thigh!  I even helped shovel (but the grown-ups told me I didn’t have to that I got to have fun skating.  Pushing the shovel was fun too.)

Determined to help make her rink just a little bigger.

Determined to help make her rink just a little bigger.

I can do turn nows.  I practiced since last year when my friend taught me to skate and gave me her old ones that were too small for her.  I practiced at the cottage on Lake Michigan too.  When I keep practicing I get better.  Sometimes I have to tell people, “backwards skater coming through.”  I practiced going backwards and now I can.

Tana getting better each time she laces up.

Tana getting better each time she laces up.

Little Groovy Girls Go …. Skating Along

2 thoughts on “Little Groovy Girls Go ….. Ice Skating

We love comments! Tell us what you think here....

