Groovy Girls Go…….SnowShoeing

The first “race” I ever signed up for after I was introduced to distance running about 7 years ago was a 10K snow shoe race.  I remember going to the indoor track at the gym and “high-knee” running around the ridiculous 1/4 mile loop.  I can’t help but play that line in my head, “Wow, you’ve come a long ways baby.”  First, I’d never dream of doing something so ridiculous at the gym now and Second, I can’t imagine going to a gym now.

I have re-fallen in love with Winter because of a ‘tennis-rackets-tied-around-my-shoes-looking-contraption’ that really does make a difference when you walk in any depth of snow.  I dream about the white falling crystals from the sky and wonder each time they come back where the snowshoe trekking will take me.

Sharing my love for getting out in the winter with my daughter, Montana Skye.

Sharing my love for getting out in the winter with my daughter, Montana Skye.

The best texts ever have come from my inside source at the schools letting me know there was going to be a snow day the next morning.  And with Tana tucked snuggling in bed, off I would go out my back door, onto a local golf course to let the glittering fluffy stuff pile up all around me as I would walk, trek, climb, bush-wack, stand, look-up, walk, fall, laugh, and be…..

Me Snow Shoe

The beauty in snow shoeing, is much like the uniqueness of the snowflake, each journey is it’s own.  Even if one goes out in a generally similar direction, no two treks are ever alike.  Snowflake Bentley is quoted as:

snowflakes were miracles of beauty; and it seemed a shame that this beauty should not be seen and appreciated by others. Every crystal was a masterpiece of design; and no one design was ever repeated. When a snowflake melted, that design was forever lost. Just that much beauty was gone, without leaving any record behind. I became possessed with a great desire to show people something of this wonderful loveliness, an ambition to become, in some measure, its preserver ` William Bentley (Snowflake Bentley)

Image

…….and so like the Snowflake Man, I too collect stories of humble adventures.  Only an adventure because I so claim it to be, but they are really just collections of moments in which I am present.  Journeys out into the frosting covered world where I find meaning, peace, solitude, but more often laughter with friends and family.

My sister and I snow-shoeing together.  One of my favorite pictures!

My sister and I snow-shoeing together. One of my favorite pictures!

Groovy Girls Go…….Let it Sn*w, Let it Sn*w, Let it Sn*w

We love comments! Tell us what you think here....

