Groovy Girls Go……Right Along the Storm

This morning’s run was another experience only the Montana big sky can offer.  As I started out later than I had hoped, which made it hotter than I had hoped, I was fading fast.

If I’ve learned anything by being hurt as badly as I am, it’s to take care of your body because it’s the only one we get, and its the key to getting where we want to be in life.  My most common answer to, “why do you run so much?”  Is because I can.  I know so many people, that due to health (and I mean not self-imposed, but honest to goodness have gotten a bad shake) they have to give it all they can to merely get out of bed in the morning.  I, on the other hand, have been blessed where I can find my gear and just keep going.

This morning’s beautiful Montana big sky and the scorching heat the plains side of the state can bring, was going to pose me some problems.  that was until about 4 miles in, as I was turning to go up over the bridge crossing the rushing Yellowstone river, I saw a sight for a tired runner’s eyes……early morning storm clouds.

image006
I could start to feel the temperature begin to drop as the clouds moved closer to the north side of town.  I could also see the waving striped, black-looking rain pouring out of the clouds, yet I was to remain dry.  The sky was visibly divided between brilliant blue and black menacing rain clouds.

This made me think how often I push myself right up to the brink in order to become faster, stronger, better views, but yet not going into the storm because at the end of the day, I want to live to run  another day.

I’ve done storms, and I know I can, but some days, running close enough to take strength from the power of the storm, is close enough.

Groovy Girls Go…….Close Enough To Be Close Enough
Kacey

We love comments! Tell us what you think here....

