spread the word, stay safe Road ID #giveaway!

Just a short and sweet little post (still from my phone) but with a little giveaway for someone!

I have done a lot of thinking about fear lately and without rambling too much my philosophy comes out at, while taking sensible precautions, it is too bad if the possibility of something which MIGHT happen holds you back from achieving all you are capable of.

Here are some fear related quotes, see if any of them strike a chord with you…

People living deeply have no fear of death.
Anais Nin
When a resolute young fellow steps up to the great bully, the world, and takes him boldly by the beard, he is often surprised to find it comes off in his hand, and that it was only tied on to scare away the timid adventurers.
Ralph Waldo Emerson
Fear is the main source of superstition, and one of the main sources of cruelty. To conquer fear is the beginning of wisdom.
Bertrand Russell
Fears are educated into us, and can, if we wish, be educated out.
Karl Augustus Menninger
Curiosity will conquer fear even more than bravery will.
James Stephens
I must not fear.
Fear is the mind-killer.
Fear is the little-death that brings total obliteration.
I will face my fear.
I will permit it to pass over me and through me.
And when it has gone past I will turn the inner eye to see its path.
Where the fear has gone there will be nothing.
Only I will remain.
Frank Herbert
Fear: False Evidence Appearing Real.
Unknown
I am not afraid of tomorrow, for I have seen yesterday and I love today.
William Allen White

Who sees all beings in his own self, and his own self in all beings, loses all fear.
Isa Upanishad, Hindu Scripture

Where no hope is left, is left no fear.
Milton
Fear is only as deep as the mind allows.
Japanese Proverb
Avoiding danger is no safer in the long run than outright exposure. The fearful are caught as often as the bold.
Helen Keller
You can discover what your enemy fears most by observing the means he uses to frighten you.
Eric Hoffer
If you are distressed by anything external, the pain is not due to the thing itself, but to your estimate of it; and this you have the power to revoke at any moment.
Marcus Aurelius
When I hear music, I fear no danger. I am invulnerable. I see no foe. I am related to the earliest times, and to the latest.
Henry David Thoreau
You gain strength, courage, and confidence by every experience in which you really stop to look fear in the face. You must do the thing which you think you cannot do.
Eleanor Roosevelt
In skating over thin ice our safety is in our speed.
Ralph Waldo Emerson
The oldest and strongest emotion of mankind is fear, and the oldest and strongest kind of fear is fear of the unknown.
H. P. Lovecraft
Inaction breeds doubt and fear. Action breeds confidence and courage. If you want to conquer fear, do not sit home and think about it. Go out and get busy.
Dale Carnegie
Try a thing you haven’t done three times. Once, to get over the fear of doing it. Twice, to learn how to do it. And a third time to figure out whether you like it or not.
Virgil Thomson
The enemy is fear. We think it is hate; but, it is fear.
Gandhi
Never be afraid to try something new. Remember, amateurs built the ark, professionals built the Titanic.
Unknown

So…..one of those “sensible precautions” we take when running is to use a Road ID (www.roadid.com) with emergency contact info and allergy/health info in case of mishap.

Kacey and I have the shoe IDs but there are lots of choices depending on your preferences and they even have a fancy option where there is a number they call so you can update your info if it changes!

I recently won a $15 gift card, and free shipping coupon (I’m pretty sure they can be used together) at a race, and since we already have Road IDs I am sharing the love, if you’ll do the same, with a little giveaway!

So, here’s how it works:

1 Entry for each of the following (leave a comment saying you did it and I’ll consider each comment an entry…make sense?):

Subscribe to this blog (free entry if you’re already subscribed just comment I subscribed!)

Share this post on Facebook or twitter (comment that you shared)

Use your words 😉 and tell someone face to face about our little blog (I know crrrrrazy right? 😉 )

I will pick a winner from all the comments on 7/15.

Tons of great posts coming so you’ll be happy to be subscribed!

*RoadID is not involved in this giveaway, new comments may require approval before posting*

Stay safe, stay groovy and good luck!

2 thoughts on “spread the word, stay safe Road ID #giveaway!

  1. Pingback: Groovy Girls Go……..Even If At First We Think We’re Afraid | Groovy Girls Go..............

  2. Fear

    Fear, that nebulous blob of unkempt, irrational emotions seems to always show up at inappropriate times, uninvited. Last week, in the midst of a perfectly pleasant hike in the snow at Glacier National Park, there it was, Fear with a capital F. And, to make matters worse, I was with my daughters. We came upon a part of the trail where I either had to climb a narrow ridge
    (NO! I’m not going up there! – unfortunately, that thought didn’t stay quiet, but leapt out of my mouth) or hike about 30 feet over a narrow ledge with loose gravel that people twice my age were doing without flinching. Then, before I could stop them, my daughters started scrambling across the ledge. OMG! I have no choice now! With my heart racing, praying to the mountain gods, and swallowing all pride, I took anyone’s hand as I moved millimeter by millimeter across the ledge.

    And on the other side, the most beautiful site I have ever seen! Small green meadows mixed with wild flowers, streams, pine trees and mountain goat moms with their babies wandering around. It was truly magical. And then at the end of the trail, Hidden Lake, where we saw some bighorn sheep. I was so happy I made it there.

    Just for the record, I wasn’t any better going back, but by then I could at least joke about it. I knew the fear wouldn’t stop me. So I threw on my super mom cape (which, by the way, if you wear upside down says “wow”) and once again took any hand willing to take mine and made my way.

    Fear, something we all must face from time to time, needs to be managed so we don’t miss seeing magical lands and mountain goat babies.

    A Groovy Girl wannabe keeping my cape with me at all times to ward away Fear

We love comments! Tell us what you think here....

