Groovy girls know….

First of all we KNOW that we owe you all kinds of catch up! Race reports, those race prep tips posts that I delusionally thought I’d have tons of time to post in the week before the marathon…not to mention the fun details of our weekend in Cincinnati with the girls…plus I hear Montana has some stories to share too!

So, where to start! Here are Kacey’s thoughts on the marathon with my interruptions in italics…cos i can’t help it and to give you some context to her comments (after all I am all about context)!

Here is a great photo of us out on the course (we are not really sure where!) Did I mention how awesome the flying pig is for posting tons of free photos on facebook...which marathon does that!

Here is a great photo of us out on the course (we are not really sure where!) Did I mention how awesome the flying pig is for posting tons of free photos on facebook…which marathon does that!

First off I want to say what a great weekend we had. The Flying Pig lived up to all it’s reputation – and awesomely organized weekend of events, featuring a tough marathon course with TONS of spectator enthusiasm and support and on course entertainment…did we mention a plentiful supply of delicious orange slices! Our weekend was made extra special by friends who traveled all the way to Cincinnati to cheer us on and then our expertly planned post race spa plan! Anyone reading this account of our race day should understand that we trained HARD for this – we understood and anticipated the hillyness – if you understand that then this is a FUN marathon. My goal going into this training cycle was to build strength through the winter as a building block towards a great fall marathon in Chicago. But, as training and strength grows goals evolve, and a BQ looked within reach on a great day on this tough course. The time that this proverbial line in the sand equates to  for my age and gender, is 3:58:58. But more about that later…..let’s hear from Kacey who with an injured ass was yet again running with me instead of for herself on this particular race day.

“I knew what you were doing.” Katherine said as my running heart was still feeling a bit droopy because the whole point of rabbiting for your running BFF is to hippity-hop them to their goal because you believe in them when they may not even believe in themselves.

fp_time

On this hilly course, we each took the uphills at our own pace – Kacey is a better hill runner than me so would pull away on the uphills and I was conscious of not wanting to expend too much effort climbing the up hills. Fortunately we would reconnect relatively quickly on the flats…that was until somewhere around mile 20. When I was out of catch up. So I kept her pink top in my sights, I could see her…I just couldn’t make my legs catch her…or maybe it was my head because at some point it really is all mental..but we’ll leave that discussion for another day and say that somewhere in those last 6.2 miles 3:58:58 slipped away by 13 seconds. Now 13 seconds doesn’t sound like a lot but when your quads are crying and refusing to “catch up” it may as well be 13 hrs! I have surely wasted many “13 seconds” in my life but I didn’t waste any on that day. Yes I was going for 3:58:58, it was tattooed on my arm (temporary tattoo mum don’t worry! 😉 ) and we were ahead of plan all morning…right up until that mile 20, when like the proverbial line in the sand that it is the sand slipped through my fingers. As I crossed the line, I found Kacey and told her (likely in a slightly wheezing voice) “I don’t think I did it, but I can’t look.” I had stopped my watch as I crossed the line, but like opening an envelope with exam results, I needed someone to hold my hand while I looked!  Having said all that I really am thrilled with my run, I felt good through the end – except for my tired-out quads – I met my goal to get into Corral B at Chicago and I know that I will get that BQ another day.

So, truth be told, goal number one was successfully met so really the day should have been all rainbows amongst the rainstorm.  We both not only got into The Chicago Marathon, but we are both now in corral B too.  We also have different “beginning stages” plans in the works for Boston weekend, so its ok that we are going to need another Marathon to get BQ times.  I always keep in the fore-front of my mind that when I first wanted to break 3:25 for a marathon, I didn’t get it done until I had tried 4 times.  Ultimately the age old saying that good things come to those who wait (and who work their a$$ off I usually add) applies here.  And so it will be a different day that we both can sign up to get on the bus to Hopkinton……..but until then, groovy girls count their blessings first and we’re blessed to be lucky enough to have finished strong, healthy, with fans unharmed at the finish line, and ready to run another day!

This is some SERIOUS hardware especially for the anniversary!

This is some SERIOUS double sided hardware especially for the anniversary!

I wasted no time in submitting my finishers certificate for "upgrade" from Corral C to B!

I wasted no time in submitting my finishers certificate for “upgrade” from Corral C to B!

The Flying Pig Marathon is no joke and when the lady in the bathroom tried to scare me by saying it was tougher than Boston she probably wasn’t really trying to scare me, she was merely having a flashback!  IT IS HILLY AND TOUGH!!  I’m so glad we did it.  I mean really?!?!  Who smashes their PR on a tough as nails course?  Uh huh!!  Katherine!  I’m really so geeked for her and couldn’t be prouder!   There’s a picture out there that just says it all on her face, she was giving it her all.

Here is that photo taken during the ironically named "Crest Smile Mile"...Mile 22. It really didn't feel as bad as this photo looks, but this was the point where the 3:35 pace team (who were slightly ahead of pace) passed me, and I began to feel that sand slipping away...

Here is that photo taken during the ironically named “Crest Smile Mile”…Mile 22. It really didn’t feel as bad as this photo looks, but this was the point where the 3:35 pace team (who were slightly ahead of pace) passed me, and I began to feel that sand slipping away…

Groovy Girls Go and Give It Their All………….

For those who geek out on splits and paces and elevation profiles here you go…..technically I can claim 8:07 pace since the Garmin logged 26.5 miles with all the ducking and weaving through the crowds and water stations…not quite running the tangents! 😉 but all that really counts is that chip time….

elevation_fp

fp map

fp splits 1 14 fp splits 14 26.2

2 thoughts on “Groovy girls know….

  1. I’ve been there, Katherine….As much as my mind and heart wanted to go faster, my legs just wouldn’t do it. It’s strange because it doesn’t happen in all races/runs. I’m sure there’s a science to it. Anyway, awesome job!!

  2. Pingback: Now that we are done talking about 13 seconds….onto the important stuff! ;) | Groovy Girls Go..............

We love comments! Tell us what you think here....

