You’ve gotta start somewhere!

I have been overwhelmed by the number of friends who have recently told me that they want to start running or train for their first race and humbled that they have asked for my advice and support. It seems to me that this is the perfect forum for this kind of support and question answering and I hope that everyone can get involved and support each other.

561633_10151313030341687_1199761141_n

I particularly hope that my friends Mandy and Caryn will share with you their stories and motivations to run as well as keep us updated on their progress with a few “guest” posts here……if you’d like to encourage them to share with a comment, there is nothing like some good old fashioned peer pressure, oh, I mean encouragement! 😉

So, I will be laying out some training on a weekly basis. It is adapted from the Hansons Couch to 10k program, which is similar to many of the available programs but I will be adapting it to fit the timing of a first 5k, the Meteor 5k  at the Martian invasion of races on April 13th and ultimately the Flirt with Dirt trail 10k on June 8th.

Whether you are local and planning on joining us at these races, or not I would love for you to let us know how your training is  going…even if it is sometimes just, check – done! Let’s support each other!

I will also be sharing some tips on clothing and other beginner running tips – the things that we learned the hard way….so you don’t have to! So, if you have ANY questions…however small, crazy or burning…let us know and we will try our best to help!

SO….week 1:

Normal disclaimers: I am not a trainer or doctor. Make sure you are healthy and start exercising within your ability. Listen to your body and don’t do something that doesn’t feel right just cos I told you. I don’t want anyone to get hurt, especially not following my advice!

Day 1 – 10 min walk, 3 min run, 7 min walk, 3 min run, 7 min walk. Walk briskly and Run at a pace that you could just carry on a conversation (you know the type where Kacey does most of the talking, and you just say yes, no, uh-huh and oh dear…. occasionally! 😉 )

Core work: I think this is essential to running injury free and is great to build in from the beginning. I love these workouts from Jess at Blondeponytail.com and her great videos make it easy to follow along wherever you are. Sub one of these whenever I specify core work. You can download a HIIT timer app like this one for your phone or invest in a Gymboss timer.

Day 2 – 20 mins Cross training. I particularly like the stepmill here, but if you don’t have access the bike or elliptical is fine. As long as you are sweating! + Myrtl routine for Hip strengthening and flexibility.

Day 3 – 8 min walk, 5 min run, 5 min walk, 5 min run, 7 min walk

Day 4 – 20 mins Cross training + Myrtl routine.

Day 5 – 10 min walk, 3 min run, 7 min walk, 3 min run, 7 min walk + Core work.

Day 6 – rest

Day 7 –  8 min walk, 5 min run, 5 min walk, 5 min run, 7 min walk + Myrtl routine

Good luck! Let us know what you think!

 

 

 

11 thoughts on “You’ve gotta start somewhere!

  1. Busy day, fantastic hair class all day. A bit of admin work at salon. Healthy grocery shopping then headed home at 8:30 to run. Dressed in layers, dog at my side for first 10 minutes of run. So icy, came inside and finished on the elliptical. Must say. Proud of my first day. Tomorrow I am running in the am.

  2. Today I did the the “Day 3″…outside! Although the 2nd run was split with a fast walk. I am so surprised that I get comfortable in the cold within 3 or 4 minutes. And I added the HITT Training Timer to my phone…that was perfect!

  3. Pingback: You can do this! – Week 2 | Groovy Girls Go…………..

  4. Got crazy for me by end of week. Kept up with core all week and running stairs. Too late at night to be running outside. This week a new beginning.

We love comments! Tell us what you think here....

