Don’t let the perfect be the enemy of the good!

“Don’t let the perfect be the enemy of the good” is a quote that I first read in Gretchen Rubin’s book, The Happiness Project which I read on the beach this time last year. It appears that it is actually commonly attributed to a Voltaire poem, but we’ll go with Gretchen! lol

This mantra struck me at the time as I’m sure that we all have ideas that seem great, and get us all excited and then never get executed because of the logistics of perfect execution – ok…maybe it is just me but go with me on this one! 😉

Which brings me to this little blog….I have been holding off on sharing the posts (although it has been live in an anonymous internet kinda way…) until I had all the widgets and themes set up which in term led me to an awesome html class with my amazing friend Cara Jo who is working with this great non-profit Girl Develop It (check them out in a city near you!!) Which in turn led me to discover that I really need to write my own WordPress theme and migrate to wordpress.org to apply it and blah, blah, blah….as you can see the perfect was definitely defeating my original plan. 

This blog was originally inspired by my love of reading stuftmama, blondeponytail and other fitfluential bloggers postings and I LOVE the fitfluential philosophy repeated in their blogging guidelines…start where you are at and go from there. Sharing something is better than not sharing the perfect thing – does that make sense?

So here is the deal….we will start where we are at….not smooth, not polished but functional – I hope and we will take the journey together to hopefully one day have a blog half as good as these guys!

ok….enough rambling…let me know if you are in with our deal and if you have any great suggestions of easy functionality adds within wordpress.com and the current theme and I will continue to plug away on the perfect!

Katherine

3 thoughts on “Don’t let the perfect be the enemy of the good!

  1. “Jump in where you are” – this is my philosophy when it comes to trying to tackle a big change. It didn’t getblike this instantly and you are not going to sort it in one fell swoop. Just make a start, keep at it and soon you will see changes that will inspire you to keep going. “If you want to eat an elephant do itbone mouthful at a time” ( Please don’t eat elephants, they are so wonderful!)

  2. Pingback: Work in progress…. | Groovy Girls Go…………..

We love comments! Tell us what you think here....

